Three businessmen working at a table

Contact York Region’s Economic Development Team

Whether you're a business looking to expand into Toronto area's York Region, already in the Region and looking for support, or a small business/entrepreneur looking for assistance our economic strategy team has you covered.

Our Team Can Assist You With:

  • Sector Data and Advisory
  • Location Selection Assistance
  • Talent Attraction Support
  • Strategic B2B / B2G Introductions
  • Innovation & Entrepreneurship Support
  • Community Public Relations
  • Access to Government Incentives
  • Entrepreneurship and Small Business Support
  • Agriculture & Agri-Food Business Support
  • Other Services As Needed

Follow Us

York Region Economic Strategy Team

DIRECTOR OF ECONOMIC STRATEGY

Jonathan Wheatle
Director, Economic Strategy
jonathan.wheatle@york.ca

Diane Chase
Administrative Assistant
diane.chase@york.ca

INVESTMENT & MARKETING

Robert Unterman
Manager, Investment & Marketing
robert.unterman@york.ca

Gordon Scheel
Senior Business Development Advisor
gordon.scheel@york.ca

Richard Franklin
Senior Business Development Advisor
richard.franklin@york.ca

Nadia Sacco
Marketing Assistant
nadia.sacco@york.ca

Nathan Allen
Web & Social Media Communications Specialist
nathan.allen@york.ca

Sally Chau
Economic Business Analyst
sally.chau@york.ca

STRATEGIC ECONOMIC INITIATIVES

Charles Banfeld
Manager, Strategic Economic Initiatives
charles.banfeld@york.ca

Jenifer Benakis
Policy & Project Development Specialist
jenifer.benakis@york.ca

Meena Hassanali
Rural & Agri-Food Business Development Specialist
meena.hassanali@york.ca

Tony Corkovic
Marketing & Communications Specialist
tony.corkovic@york.ca

YORK SMALL BUSINESS ENTERPRISE CENTRE

Daniela Mazzaferro
Small Business Consultant
daniela.mazzaferro@york.ca

Vivian Ho-Tam
Small Business Consultant
vivian.ho-tam@york.ca

Pauline Nagelmakers
Small Business Assistant
pauline.nagelmakers@york.ca

Office Locations:

York Region Economic Strategy office locations are listed below, but we recommend contacting the office prior to coming. In most situations an appointment is required.

Economic Strategy |
Newmarket

17250 Yonge Street
Newmarket, Ontario | L3Y 6Z1
edo@york.ca | 1-877-464-9675

Economic Strategy |
Markham

169 Enterprise Boulevard, Unit 300
Markham, Ontario | L6G 0E7
edo@york.ca | 1-877-464-9675

York Small Business Enterprise Centre

17150 Yonge Street
Newmarket, Ontario | L3Y 6Z1
ysbec@york.ca | 1-877-464-9675 ext. 71572